This passage from Dreams of My Father gives you all the understanding you need to see were BHO’s economic “plans” are coming from

Author: Rory B. Bellows

Eventually a consulting house to multinational corporations agreed to hire me as a research assistant. Like a spy behind enemy lines, I arrived every day at my mid-Manhattan office and sat at my computer terminal, checking the Reuters machine that blinked bright emerald messages from across the globe. As far as I could tell I was the only black man in the company, a source of shame for me but a source of considerable pride for the company’s secretarial pool. They treated me like a son, those black ladies; they told me how they expected me to run the company one day…

Nevertheless, as the months passed, I felt the idea of becoming an organizer slipping away from me. The company promoted me to the position of financial writer. I had my own office, my own secretary, money in the bank. Sometimes, coming out of an interview with Japanese financiers or German bond traders, I would catch my reflection in the elevator doors-see myself in a suit and tie, a briefcase in my hand-and for a split second I would imagine myself as a captain of industry, barking out orders, closing the deal, before I remembered who it was that I had told myself I wanted to be and felt pangs of guilt for my lack of resolve.

Then one day, as I sat down at my computer to write an article on interest-rate swaps, something unexpected happened. Auma called. I had never met this half sister; we had written only intermittently…

[A] few months after Auma called, I turned in my resignation at the consulting firm and began looking in earnest for an organizing job…

two quick comments:

1) The man refers to Wall Street as the enemy.

2) In messianic fashion he was able to spurn the temptation of becoming a captain of industry to pursue the goodly path of organizing.

4 Responses to “This passage from Dreams of My Father gives you all the understanding you need to see were BHO’s economic “plans” are coming from”


  1. 1 Search For Some Sex June 30, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Right here is the right web site for anybody who would like
    to find out about this topic. You know so much its almost tough to
    argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject which has been written about for ages.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

  2. 2 Site For Sex June 30, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  3. 3 older ladies June 30, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to
    “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance
    my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!
    !

  4. 4 tablette graphique wacom July 3, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    This paragraph offers clear idea in favor of the new viewers of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging and site-building.


Leave a Reply

Pages

LivingJersey

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


