Why I will (reluctantly) vote for Chris Christie.

Author: Rory B. Bellows

I have been torn during this election cycle over my vote for Governor. Chris Christie has run an awful campaign. Chris Christie is an establishment liberal. A Christie Governorship will do nothing to build a functioning Republican Party in New Jersey. In short, he will be a lesser version of Christie Whitman, who at least had the good sense to listen to her advisors and base her 1993 campaign around a supply-side 30% in 3 year income tax cut.

For conservatives, there is a protest candidate. Jason Cullen is the type of young conservative we need to come through the ranks. However, I cannot pull the lever for Mr. Cullen as much as I may like his governing philosophy and disapprove of Mr. Christie’s. I do not believe a protest vote in this election will accomplish anything.

The Star-Ledger has endorsed Independent Candidate Chris Daggett. Even Pual Mulshine, whose work I respect greatly, has taken a shine to Mr. Daggett. I have no idea why. Daggett is lying when he says his plan does not increase taxes. It does. He is trying to use the newspeak term of “expanding” the sales tax instead of increasing in the sales tax. He can try and spin it any way he wants but the slaes tax will now be applied to more services and goods. That is raising taxes. While some portions of his platform are laudable, imposing caps on municpial, county and school budgets using the CPI and eliminating property tax rebates, Mr. Daggett is still just another tax increaser and as one of the self-described earliest global warming crusaders in the country, we can expect more New Jersey Republican support for destructive policies of cap and tax.

Moreover, Mr. Daggett is every bit as liberal as Mr. Christie. There is no small government tilt in his ideology or campaing platform. The only thing that separates him from Christie is that he has put out a more detailed property tax cut plan. I do not want ot rehash too much, but I will give myself the old Barry Horrowitz pat on the back for previously posting that all Christie had to do was present a property tax cut plan and he would win going away. Chris Daggett has proposed a plan that increases taxes, but because there is some meat to it, everyone, including a leading conservative clolumnist, went ga-ga over it. Daggett’s plan is awful, but it is the only plan out there at the moment.

This leads me back to Chris Christie. Since I have explained why I cannot vote for the other challengers, I will explain why I will vote for Christie. Two words: Barack Obama. Bob McDonnell is going to curb stomp Creigh Deeds in Virgina. Chris Christie winning in New Jersey, regardless of the quality of the candidate and campaign, would send a clear message that ultra-leftist policy agendas practiced by ultra-leftist politicians is out right now. It would send a clear signal to Democrats in Washington that if they wish to pursue government run health care, cap and tax, pro-union legislation and redistribution of wealth policies, they will pay a steep price at the ballot box next November.

Vote to repudiate big government leftism. Vote, you can even hold your nose when you do so, for Chris Christie.

4 Responses to “Why I will (reluctantly) vote for Chris Christie.”


  1. 1 alexhiggins732 October 17, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    The Star Ledger’s endorsement of Chris Daggett is great news. I wish the republicans would stop the Bush/Rove Fear mongering. There is obviously a consensus that a vote for Daggett is not a vote for Corzine, except among those who use mass psychological terror to promote their own agendas.

    Facts are facts and how you ignore them I don’t know.

    I say no to Chris Christie because

    The Chris Christie mafia connections.
    Christie’s multiple multi-million dollar bribe scandals.
    Illegal campaign finance by Christie and Corzine.
    Voting for the lesser of two evils is still a vote for evil.
    The Chris Christie style of justice..

    I can go on and on about both Chris Christie and Jon Corzine. The skyrocketing cost of living, the Exodus of jobs, residents, business and income from the state, corrupt politicians from my local municipality, to the county court house, to Trenton all the way to Washington.

    That’s why I refuse to vote Corzine or Christie. I am Voting Chris Daggett and so should you

    Only voter’s have the power to change the government. We must refuse to be held captive to the broken two-party system that has brought a plaque of scandal and corruption into our government by fear of voting for a third party. Its time to send a message to politicians in NJ and all across the country. Its time to end politics as usual.

    Help spread the word about Daggett
    Click here for Web 2.0 buttons and HTML code to promote Daggett

  2. 2 alexhiggins732 October 29, 2009 at 4:10 am

    Regardless of who Chris Daggett hurts, Daggett is not a spoiler and he can win.

    Daggett has broken 20 percent and can win. The Washington Post says at 20% there is a path for Daggett to win and political analysts say with 25% in the polls Daggett can win.

    Now its a matter of getting that last 100,000 votes to get Daggett in a position to win.

    To do that we are reaching out to voters that want to Vote for Daggett but are afraid a vote for Daggett is a wasted vote. So…

    The I’ll vote for Daggett Pledge:

    “I want to vote for Chris Daggett, but only if he has a real chance of winning. He needs pledges from 100,000 people like me. I don’t want to wait til Election Day to find out that those votes existed, but we were all afraid to cast them. So, I’m signing my name below, with my address to prove that I’m real, and pledging that if 100,000 people like me sign up, I will vote for Daggett.”

    Take the I’ll Vote For Daggett Pledge Here

    Spread the word about this pledge, so we can bring an end to politics as usual.

  3. 3 Tiffany November 3, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I will vote for Daggett. He may say there may have to be a bit of a tax raise, but at least he admits the truth. When we go far Right, they take our money and give to the Rich. When you go with far left, they take money and give to the poor. If you have a moderate democrat or a fiscally Conservative Independent, it’s spread “equally.” Come on people isn’t it “time” for a third party, a True Independent? I believe so. However, if Chris Daggett does not win I would pick Corzine over Christie Mobster Any Day.


  1. 1 Does anyone really think Christie has a chance? - Conservative Republican Discussion Forums Trackback on October 26, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages


